Teaching

Old Aug 11th 2009, 12:49 am
L2, GC, Surrey, OH, TX!

MsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond repute
Default Teaching

im just thinking about possible careers in the future. Im not set on anything - and have a while to go as my youngest is just 7 months old anyway. (and for those that dont know me - I am currently on an L2 with an EAD - with green card application over half way done). I used to be a software team leader when we left the UK.

What qualifications do you need to teach in the US? say at Elementary level. I have an Bsc 2(i) in an engineering discipline (4 years) but no UK teaching quals.

In the UK i believe i'd need to do a years post grad cert. Would that be likely true in the US or would I have to go back to the beginning again. Im not thinking about cost now - im just thinking how long would it take and do i want to even study that long - then ill worry about funding if its still something im interested in.
Old Aug 11th 2009, 1:39 am
Forum Regular

markhawksley is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Teaching

It varies from state to state, but here in NV:

http://nvteachers.doe.nv.gov/Elementary.htm

Many states have an 'alternate route to licensure' for people who want to take up teaching as a second career. You should contact your state's Department of Education to find out more. Usually it involves a few college courses and student teaching placements.

Just a word of warning though, teaching jobs are hard to come by at the moment. Many states and school districts have been laying off teachers or at least had hiring freezes.
Old Aug 11th 2009, 2:31 am
BE Forum Addict