Reload this Page >

Teacher in NYC

Teacher in NYC

Old Apr 8th 2021, 8:55 am
Just Joined

Accarano is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Teacher in NYC

Hello!

I am in the process of applying to teaching jobs in independent schools in New York and wondered if anyone here has been successful in securing employment before their visa application was complete.

I am in the process of applying for an L2 visa but my appointment isn't til August.

Does anyone have any advice for job applications? I have 9 years of teaching experience in the UK in mainstream public schools.

Many thanks!
Old Apr 8th 2021, 1:34 pm

Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Teacher in NYC

I doubt you can secure employment before the visa application is complete, because the school will need proof of your right to work in the USA. That means after having arrived in the USA on the L2, AND after having obtained your EAD.

Rene
Old Apr 8th 2021, 2:05 pm
Account Closed

scrubbedexpat099 is an unknown quantity at this point

Sounds like you are looking for employment starting 2022 year?

I am not sure any schools look that far forward.

Old Apr 9th 2021, 11:24 am
Often not so civil...