Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Taxes shouldn't be taxing! US tax advice need for a returnee.

Taxes shouldn't be taxing! US tax advice need for a returnee.

Old Feb 20th 2021, 9:18 am
Just Joined

NewJerseyAllStars is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Taxes shouldn't be taxing! US tax advice need for a returnee.

I am complete beginner when it comes to US taxes so any advice given would be much appreciated (sorry if these questions are obvious). I am a British citizen and returned back to the UK in the summer of 2019 after living in New Jersey for a couple of years. I don't intend to return to the US and don’t have any green card or US citizenship.

While in the US as part of compensation my employer issued me with some RSU (Restricted Stock Units). These vested in 2020. There are some that will vest in 2021 and 2022.

For the tax year 2020 my previous employer has sent me a W2 for these RSU.

Wages(ie. Income from RSU) $12,322 Less deductions for Federal Income Tax $2614, Social Security $758, Medicare $177, NY State Income Tax $1176

Other than $500 of bank interest I have no other income in the US.

So how does it work for taxes in the US? Do I still have to file for State and Federal tax return in the US as a non-resident? Is there a minimum income tax filing threshold?

As my affairs are relatively simple is there a tax filing company does it does cheaply and easily that you can recommend. Has anyone used Sprintax?

I assume my ex-employers just used a default tax rates. I assume I can claim back some of these taxes? Is it possible to do this while based in the UK?
Old Feb 20th 2021, 7:43 pm
Often not so civil...