Reload this Page >

Tax return FBAR question

Tax return FBAR question

Old Mar 7th 2012, 4:26 pm
Forum Regular

nikknakk is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Tax return FBAR question

Hello all,

A little background, I've been a permanent resident for 3 years and received my green card last year.
I've been submitting my taxes in both US & UK, I've never really taken much notice until recently when I read about foreign accounts and having more than $10k you need to declare etc.I have over $10k in my UK accounts.
So for this year I want to do the do the right thing and whats the most beneficial thing for me, ie. not get into any trouble and not be fined.

I spoke to two US tax accountants that have conflicting advice.

Firstly, I'm advised to to fill out the FBAR foreign account paperwork and submit before June. Leave it at that and my chances for the IRS to fine me are low.

The second accountant suggested not to do this as I may lose over 50% of my UK monies via the IRS and I should bring all my UK money into the USA (bank to bank wire), knowing that US bank have to report over $10k but he feels it less risky for me and NOT fill out the foreign FBAR paperwork.

I'm not sure what to do ?
Old Mar 7th 2012, 4:57 pm
Account Closed

ian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tax return FBAR question

Originally Posted by nikknakk
Firstly, I'm advised to to fill out the FBAR foreign account paperwork and submit before June. Leave it at that and my chances for the IRS to fine me are low.
Correct.