Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Talk to me about Philadelphia, please

Talk to me about Philadelphia, please

Old Mar 12th 2017, 7:43 pm
Forum Regular

RollingStones has a reputation beyond reputeRollingStones has a reputation beyond reputeRollingStones has a reputation beyond reputeRollingStones has a reputation beyond reputeRollingStones has a reputation beyond reputeRollingStones has a reputation beyond reputeRollingStones has a reputation beyond reputeRollingStones has a reputation beyond reputeRollingStones has a reputation beyond reputeRollingStones has a reputation beyond reputeRollingStones has a reputation beyond repute
Default Talk to me about Philadelphia, please

Hello! This is the first post of a newbie here.

So after of few weeks of tossing the idea around, and coming around to the possibility, my husband comes home last week and says, "Update. I'm being put forward for an inter-company transfer to the US."
So this is it. Suddenly the possibility becomes something more and we can't assume our son will be starting secondary school here in September, and we can't assume that our daughter will be going on the next school residential trip in October. It would be silly for me to plan for the local triathlon in September, and Yikes!... What about the dogs? But at the same time... so very, very exciting.

Which brings me to here. Where to start?

So, we are a family of 4, our son is 11 and our daughter is almost 13, and we have decided to take the opportunity before she becomes embedded in GCSE study. Oh and we have two well-mannered small dogs.
I understand that we will have a relocation consultant to help us move.
Ideally we'd like arrange things for September to tie in with school admission.