Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Social Security Number

Social Security Number

Old Jun 10th 2016, 1:18 am
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 28
Boswortha is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Social Security Number

Hi there,

I entered the USA on Monday so am currently waiting 10 days until I apply for my SSN as advised on the SSA website.

One question, can I not be physically paid until I have this SSN? My employer is asking for my SSN but I think it will be a few weeks until I receive it.
Would she first need this before I could be set up for payment?
We don't have a HR department so unfortunately I can't ask anyone about this.

Also, would my husband who is on an O3 visa (on my O1) be eligible for a SSN?

Thank you.
Boswortha is offline  
Old Jun 10th 2016, 2:14 am
  #2  
Chocoholic !
 
ChocolateBabz's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX - Officially Not Shit since 2009
Posts: 2,315
ChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Social Security Number

My hubby's work were able to use a 'dummy' SSN in the interim to pay him. Our bank (chase) were able to set up a bank account without one. As soon as we got our ssn's we called and gave them the numbers.
ChocolateBabz is offline  
Old Jun 10th 2016, 2:41 am
  #3  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 28
Boswortha is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Social Security Number

Interesting. So there is some kind of temporary SSN available?
Boswortha is offline  
Old Jun 10th 2016, 2:51 am
  #4  
Lt Cl (Rtd)
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 49,057
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Social Security Number

Originally Posted by Boswortha View Post
Interesting. So there is some kind of temporary SSN available?
No, not a temporary SSN, but I have heard of provisional payrolls being run for new immigrants with an all-zeros SSN.
Pulaski is online now  
Old Jun 10th 2016, 3:01 am
  #5  
Chocoholic !
 
ChocolateBabz's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX - Officially Not Shit since 2009
Posts: 2,315
ChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Social Security Number

Originally Posted by Boswortha View Post
Interesting. So there is some kind of temporary SSN available?
No it wasn't an actual SSN, just a number they used to allow him to get paid prior to the SSN being issued, like Pulaski says it was all zeros or 123-4567-890 something like that.
ChocolateBabz is offline  
Old Jun 10th 2016, 8:44 am
  #6  
BE Forum Addict
 
yellowroom's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Was Virginia, now Yorkshire.
Posts: 1,952
yellowroom has a reputation beyond reputeyellowroom has a reputation beyond reputeyellowroom has a reputation beyond reputeyellowroom has a reputation beyond reputeyellowroom has a reputation beyond reputeyellowroom has a reputation beyond reputeyellowroom has a reputation beyond reputeyellowroom has a reputation beyond reputeyellowroom has a reputation beyond reputeyellowroom has a reputation beyond reputeyellowroom has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Social Security Number

Originally Posted by Boswortha View Post
Interesting. So there is some kind of temporary SSN available?
I had to wait over 2 months for my SSN (cock-up in paperwork), my employer paid me without any issues. My payslips for that time show an SSN of all zeros.

Some employers who are not used to dealing with new immigrants can struggle with this sometimes as the "computer says no". Often having an SSN can be used as shorthand for proving someone is eligible to work in the US by those who are unfamiliar with the details of immigration law.

There must be someone you or your manager can speak with who deals with your Payroll who should be more familiar with this kind of thing.
yellowroom is offline  
Old Jun 10th 2016, 7:56 pm
  #7  
 
thinbrit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 984
thinbrit has a reputation beyond reputethinbrit has a reputation beyond reputethinbrit has a reputation beyond reputethinbrit has a reputation beyond reputethinbrit has a reputation beyond reputethinbrit has a reputation beyond reputethinbrit has a reputation beyond reputethinbrit has a reputation beyond reputethinbrit has a reputation beyond reputethinbrit has a reputation beyond reputethinbrit has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Social Security Number

This should not be an issue. Your employer cannot use a SSN you do not have yet.
The correct method is for your employer to enter 000-00-0000 if they file electronically or simply write "Applied For" if they file paper.
If (and I would hope not) enough time passes that they file your W-2, then they simply file a W-2 amended once you have the number.

https://www.ssa.gov/employer/hiring.htm
thinbrit is offline  
Old Jun 11th 2016, 1:29 am
  #8  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 28
Boswortha is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Social Security Number

Thank you very much for these replies - extremely helpful. I will show the link above to my employer on Monday.

Does anyone know if my husband is also eligible for a SSN as he is on an O3 as part of my O1 visa?
As we'd like to apply for his at the same time as applying for mine.

Thank you.
Dree.
Boswortha is offline  
Old Jun 11th 2016, 2:11 am
  #9  
Chocoholic !
 
ChocolateBabz's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX - Officially Not Shit since 2009
Posts: 2,315
ChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond reputeChocolateBabz has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Social Security Number

Originally Posted by Boswortha View Post
Thank you very much for these replies - extremely helpful. I will show the link above to my employer on Monday.

Does anyone know if my husband is also eligible for a SSN as he is on an O3 as part of my O1 visa?
As we'd like to apply for his at the same time as applying for mine.

Thank you.
Dree.
As far as I am aware an O3 Visa holder is not eligible for an SSN, he will require an ITIN Number when it comes time to file taxes - for us we were able to apply for my sons ITIN at the same time as filing our first US tax return. That was 2009 though so check the current guidelines.
ChocolateBabz is offline  
Old Jun 13th 2016, 10:00 pm
  #10  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
mrken30's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Portlandia Metro
Posts: 7,304
mrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Social Security Number

I went to the local Social Security office to apply for my SSN. They gave me a print out of the number that I used to open my bank account. I think this may be called a Numident record or printout

Trouble is, you have to allocate a few hours to go and sit and wait. It's worse than the DMV.

Last edited by mrken30; Jun 13th 2016 at 10:02 pm.
mrken30 is online now  
Old Jun 13th 2016, 10:06 pm
  #11  
Lt Cl (Rtd)
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 49,057
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Social Security Number

Originally Posted by mrken30 View Post
I went to the local Social Security office to apply for my SSN. They gave me a print out of the number that I used to open my bank account. I think this may be called a Numident record or printout. ....
I think I have seen it reported here on BE that they will no longer do that.
Pulaski is online now  
Old Jun 15th 2016, 2:23 am
  #12  
Grumpy Know-it-all
 
Steve_'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 8,928
Steve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Social Security Number

O-3 is not eligible for an SSN, he has to file a W-7 with his tax return to get an ITIN.

If you can stand to wait, I'd wait on the SSN because it's one of these situations where it just causes confusion later on. If it's a small employer, they can just use a fake number for a few weeks and then retroactively change it and reissue the pay slips. Depends on when they submit their 941 but you're in Q3 for tax purposes now so they can wait until September, so not a problem.
Steve_ is offline  
Old Jun 17th 2016, 4:02 am
  #13  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 28
Boswortha is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Social Security Number

Hello again,

I have another question - when I take my docs to the SS office, do they actually take your documents from you or do they just review them and then give them back to you?

How long does the process usually take on the day, at the SS office?
Is it relatively fast?

Thanks,
Elle.
Boswortha is offline  
Old Jun 17th 2016, 4:06 am
  #14  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
mrken30's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Portlandia Metro
Posts: 7,304
mrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Social Security Number

For me it took about 30 mins from memory but it was a long time ago. I don't remember them keeping any documents. Everything was done there and then. It was the waiting in line that took the time.
mrken30 is online now  
Old Jun 18th 2016, 8:45 pm
  #15  
MODERATOR
 
Noorah101's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 58,208
Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Social Security Number

They do not keep any documents.

How long it takes depends on how busy they are. Figure anywhere from 1/2 hour to 3 hours.

Rene
Noorah101 is online now  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.