Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Possibly complex tax issues. From student, to visitor, to possible spouse.

Possibly complex tax issues. From student, to visitor, to possible spouse.

Old Nov 13th 2014, 5:05 am
Just Joined

ximmat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Possibly complex tax issues. From student, to visitor, to possible spouse.

Quick outline of my situation.

I studied at a college in Oregon in the academic year 2011/12 (August to June, therefore crossing two tax years). I had no US income, did no work. My sole income was British student finance, and disability benefits. Pretty much all of what I had coming in was spent in the USA while there.

I was possibly advised incorrectly that I did not need to file as I was on a non-immigrant visa, with no US income. However it has since been argued to me by fellow graduates who went to other colleges around the country that they were told they had to file regardless.

I intend to return to the USA around Easter as a visitor for just a couple of weeks, then return home. There is a possibility that some time after (several months to a year) that I may be separately starting on the road toward a more permanent move as the fiance or spouse of a US citizen (depending on where we choose to settle).

I need to determine if there is a way I can get a formal answer on whether I should have filed or not, and determine any penalties that may be payable if I've messed up.
I also need to discover if there is any likelihood that (if I did need to file...) having failed to file will prevent me from entering the country as a tourist, or later on returning further as someone's partner. Will immigration turn me around onto the first flight home for failing to file?

Any knowledge on this around here, or directions for where to find solid answers?
Old Nov 13th 2014, 2:27 pm