Reload this Page >

Port of exit?

Port of exit?

Old Oct 3rd 2011, 10:10 am
Just Joined

monkeybarry will become famous soon enough
Default Port of exit?

Firstly - hello everyone!

Newbie here, and I will (hopefully) be here for many years to come!!

I have a quick question I wonder if anyone has come across before?
(appologies if this is posted in the wrong place).

Does anyone know if, when entering the US on a spousal visa, does the port of exit matter?

i am based in the UK and will immigrate to the US with my (US) wife over the next few years - however we are thinking of going via someone else before permanantly entering the US.

does anyone know if i HAVE to leave from the UK at the point upon which i enter the US on my spousal visa?
Old Oct 3rd 2011, 1:52 pm
Account Closed

ian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Port of exit?

Originally Posted by monkeybarry
does anyone know if i HAVE to leave from the UK at the point upon which i enter the US on my spousal visa?
You do not. Your visa is an entry document... it doesn't matter whether or not you enter the US from the UK or a 3rd country.

Ian
Old Oct 3rd 2011, 1:55 pm
Just Joined

Cheers Ian, that was my logical assumption, but for some reason it was in my mind that i had read the opposite somewhere.

And we all know how particular homeland security can about things.
I'll just try to avoid going from Columbia or Cuba

Thanks again Ian.
Old Oct 3rd 2011, 2:46 pm
BE Commentator