Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

No credit but need a credit card in USA

No credit but need a credit card in USA

Old Oct 1st 2011, 10:22 pm
Just Joined

thesuz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default No credit but need a credit card in USA

I am moving to California in Dec. I have no credit rating in the states. I am aware that to rent a house or get a cell phone plan etc I need to have a credit rating. I can't seem to find any credit card that I am qualified for, all I seem to find are credit cards for students/graduates, I am a graduate but of a uk university so I don't qualify.
What can I do?
Does anyone know of any credit card comparison sites that discuss this issue?
Old Oct 1st 2011, 10:55 pm

avanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: No credit but need a credit card in USA

Go to some local banks when you arrive and ask about secured credit cards. My DH got one when we arrived, he had no US credit history. With a secured card you give a deposit to the bank, and then they issue you a card that has a credit limit equal to the amount of the deposit. His was $500. Pay charges on time for a year and then you can get your deposit back. Terms for different banks may vary.
Old Oct 1st 2011, 11:08 pm