Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

New job in NYC, not sure what to do first.

New job in NYC, not sure what to do first.

Old Jan 5th 2011, 6:57 pm
Just Joined

Bode is just really niceBode is just really niceBode is just really niceBode is just really niceBode is just really niceBode is just really niceBode is just really niceBode is just really nice
Default New job in NYC, not sure what to do first.

Hi everyone,

I am about to move to NYC for a new job as a graphic designer, I am about to be granted a H1-B visa, and am trying to put together a list of things I have to do to set up a life stateside.

The company will provide international medical cover (not sure how extensive this is) and are assisting with a modest financial contribution (few thousand $).

I am in the process of finding accommodation, but am unsure what I will need to do first i.e SS no, bank account, etc. Can I begin the process from here in UK or do I need to be in US.

I am hoping to get my partner of 8 years across with me, but judging by previous posts it will make more sense to get married. Given that my visa application is almost complete, is it too late for us to get married and her to come with me in February? or can she come out on VW, then I go home with her, get married, then apply for spousal visa and come back to US together.

Sorry if this is a bit much for a first post.
I have a million more questions, but I should pace myself (I'm a novice).

Thanks for any help (sorry if these issues have already been dealt with, just give me a slap and send me in the right direction ha ha)
Old Jan 5th 2011, 7:40 pm
SUPER MODERATOR