Reload this Page >

Moving to Florida

Moving to Florida

Old Mar 2nd 2004, 2:57 pm
IJP
Just Joined

IJP is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to Florida

Hello all, I have the opportunity to work in Miami for a couple of years on secondment. My girlfriend will come with me as my company will sponsor her as she is classed as my partener (we have a joint mortgage etc). We are in our 20s and have no children thus far.
I work in IT and she is a qualified childminder although she currently works with horses. We currently live in Southern France, although we are English. We have dogs and we like the out doors life (walking, horse riding, camping etc). Based on what I have just related to you could you please give me your opinions on the following:

1) Is Miami a pleasent place to live (in terms of quality of life).

2) Will my girlfriend be able to find a reasonable job with her current skill set ? By reasonable, I mean one that pays more than minimum wage and that has a legal status (i.e she pays tax etc).

3) Are there nice country side areas outside of Miami to live that are not too far away (My offices are on the S/W outskirts of Miami)

4) What can be rented for 1000 USD a month ? A house or an appartment ?

5) Is FL a good place for out door persuits (camping, horse riding etc).

6) Is it a dangerous place in terms of crime ? Obviously we will not walk around known trouble spots late at night, but does crime impact your daily lives ?

Sorry if my questions are a little naive but I don't know anything about FL as I have never vistied, although I have been to CT and also GA a couple of times so I am familiar with American culture, and the differences between living in the US and Europe.

Thanks for any thoughts.

IJP.
Old Mar 2nd 2004, 3:24 pm
Sad old Crinkly Member