British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   High School English teacher thinking of emigrating (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/high-school-english-teacher-thinking-emigrating-798434/)

gingerbreaddan85 May 29th 2013 12:20 pm

High School English teacher thinking of emigrating

Hi everyone,

I've had a look through the Wiki threads and I'll be honest, I'm lost!
My fiancée and I are considering emigrating to the USA and I was wondering what my chances were and how I would go about it.

I'm a high school English teacher with 5 years experience and upcoming responsibility in charge of a year group's curriculum.
Qualifications wise: I have a BA (Hons) in English Literature with English Language, PGCE in Secondary English (teaching qualification) and recently achieved a Masters (MA) in Teaching and Learning.
I would be looking to teach English in an American high school (as they has a similar age range to British high school).

My fiancée currently works as a customer service advisor/Sales assistant with a major (American) television provider, but is a trained and qualified Primary School teacher (BA (Hons) in Primary Education). She isn't working in a school as there just aren't any jobs for her. We were going to look into a possible job transfer for her, as the she will be able to gain outstanding references from the managing director of Customer Service and her working for an American company.

Admittedly, we aren't thinking of moving for a few years but I wanted to gain some idea of our chances of acceptance and the application process.

Any information/insight into our chances and the application process would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks! :D

Pulaski May 29th 2013 12:26 pm

Re: High School English teacher thinking of emigrating