FTP problem

Old Jan 26th 2004, 2:45 pm
  #1  
Rock Goddess
Thread Starter
 
Rockgurl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 1,429
Rockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond repute
Question FTP problem

Does anyone know anything about FTP? I've been using WSFTP LE for yonks, but when I moved I bought a new computer and downloaded it again. I'm sure I've entered all the setting just as they were but it just won't connect me. I have a website with Freeserve and I've always used this program to upload files to it so why won't it work now? Freeserve give their uploads address as: uploads.webspace.freeserve.net but I've entered it correctly and it won't work. All the user name and password entries are the same and I've checked and double checked them. I remember the first time I used the program I had problems connecting and my friend told me to alter one tiny thing in the uploads address like for example add ftp:// before it...I've tried all sorts of combinations but it still won't work. Help! Here's my settings:

Profile name: (You can choose a name here - it's not related to the website as such)

Host/Name Address: uploads.webspace.freeserve.net

Host Type: Automatic Detect

Username: username.freeserve.co.uk

Password: xxxxxx
Rockgurl is offline  
Old Jan 26th 2004, 2:47 pm
  #2  
Get em out by Friday
 
tony_2003's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,493
tony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Are you trying to access freeserve from the states?
tony_2003 is offline  
Old Jan 26th 2004, 2:53 pm
  #3  
Rock Goddess
Thread Starter
 
Rockgurl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 1,429
Rockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Originally posted by tony_2003
Are you trying to access freeserve from the states?
Yes I am.
Rockgurl is offline  
Old Jan 26th 2004, 2:55 pm
  #4  
C.G.D.S
 
sibsie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Ireland--->London--->Spain--->Rockport, MA
Posts: 3,353
sibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond repute
Default

My brother works in NYC most of the time and he can never connect to Freeserve when he's there. He hasn't found a way round it yet.
sibsie is offline  
Old Jan 26th 2004, 2:59 pm
  #5  
Rock Goddess
Thread Starter
 
Rockgurl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 1,429
Rockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Oh bums....does that mean I won't be able to update my website? That sucks. Ok...now I need some new free webspace. Can anyone recommend something that isn't Geocities or one of those horrible cheapy places with the pop-ups? I was able to do an alternative website with Freeserve using their basic webpage builder, but I would rather do my own HTML and upload stuff independently with FTP. I suppose I don't even mind paying if I can find something worth having.
Rockgurl is offline  
Old Jan 26th 2004, 3:10 pm
  #6  
Get em out by Friday
 
tony_2003's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,493
tony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

According to the freeserve site you should still be able to access if you are on the no ties account. As for free webspace, good luck, I searched for a long time and signed up for about 10 different "free" webspace accounts and they all suck. Unfortunitly unlike the early days of the net you get nothing for nothing now. Save yourself a headache and pay for webspace.
tony_2003 is offline  
Old Jan 27th 2004, 12:53 am
  #7  
BE Forum Addict
 
ScousePete's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,264
ScousePete has a reputation beyond reputeScousePete has a reputation beyond reputeScousePete has a reputation beyond reputeScousePete has a reputation beyond reputeScousePete has a reputation beyond reputeScousePete has a reputation beyond reputeScousePete has a reputation beyond reputeScousePete has a reputation beyond reputeScousePete has a reputation beyond reputeScousePete has a reputation beyond reputeScousePete has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Originally posted by tony_2003
Save yourself a headache and pay for webspace.
A Scotsman says part with your money? You've been in the States too long, Tony

I would recommend www.win2000hoster.com That is who I use. Only $1.75 p/m and you can use your own domain name. As of posting www.rockgurl.com is available. Only $7.95 p/a through www.godaddy.com Even cheaper is www.rockgurl.us at only $4.95 p/a.

Any Scotsman would be proud of those prices!
ScousePete is offline  
Old Jan 27th 2004, 2:17 am
  #8  
Through the square window
 
Webbie's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,723
Webbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Originally posted by ScousePete
A Scotsman says part with your money? You've been in the States too long, Tony

I would recommend www.win2000hoster.com That is who I use. Only $1.75 p/m and you can use your own domain name. As of posting www.rockgurl.com is available. Only $7.95 p/a through www.godaddy.com Even cheaper is www.rockgurl.us at only $4.95 p/a.

Any Scotsman would be proud of those prices!
Agreed with Pete on GoDaddy for registering a domain name.
- Alternativly if you want to do it on the cheap (as in no money) then you can get a free url redirect at www.dot.tk (Just register www.rockgurl.tk and then point it towards your free space.)

The free webspace thing over here is very hard and rare to find.
But I have found one from someone called: www.united.net.kg who offer free (15meg) webspace, no adverts and a free redirect service (www.rockgurl.co.nr for example )
I haven't used them myself. Just pointing them out. Have a look and see what you think.

If you do want to pay for hosting then I do recommend Meirhosting
A British company but they have servers in the USA and charge in US Dollars. They have 50megs for $15 per year.

Webbie.
Webbie is offline  
Old Jan 27th 2004, 2:26 am
  #9  
Get em out by Friday
 
tony_2003's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,493
tony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Originally posted by ScousePete
A Scotsman says part with your money? You've been in the States too long, Tony

I would recommend www.win2000hoster.com That is who I use. Only $1.75 p/m and you can use your own domain name. As of posting www.rockgurl.com is available. Only $7.95 p/a through www.godaddy.com Even cheaper is www.rockgurl.us at only $4.95 p/a.

Any Scotsman would be proud of those prices!

Defintley...in fact you could say any of those are a STEAL scouse!
tony_2003 is offline  
Old Jan 27th 2004, 2:34 am
  #10  
Get em out by Friday
 
tony_2003's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,493
tony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond reputetony_2003 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

UNITED.NET.KG are no longer doing the free account due to "system maintaince we currently do not accept any NEW free accounts. However, this does not affect any existing accounts.
Thank you for your understanding and patience."

In other words they can't aford it anymore.
tony_2003 is offline  
Old Jan 27th 2004, 2:42 am
  #11  
Through the square window
 
Webbie's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,723
Webbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond reputeWebbie has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Originally posted by tony_2003
UNITED.NET.KG are no longer doing the free account due to "system maintaince we currently do not accept any NEW free accounts. However, this does not affect any existing accounts.
Thank you for your understanding and patience."

In other words they can't aford it anymore.
Thanks for checking Tony. Will delete that bookmark.

There's a list of companies providing "free" hosting at:
http://www.free-webhosts.com/webhosting-01.php
Will take a bit of searching but there's got to be a decent one in that lot.
Webbie is offline  
Old Jan 27th 2004, 2:04 pm
  #12  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Duncan Roberts's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 5,270
Duncan Roberts has a reputation beyond reputeDuncan Roberts has a reputation beyond reputeDuncan Roberts has a reputation beyond reputeDuncan Roberts has a reputation beyond reputeDuncan Roberts has a reputation beyond reputeDuncan Roberts has a reputation beyond reputeDuncan Roberts has a reputation beyond reputeDuncan Roberts has a reputation beyond reputeDuncan Roberts has a reputation beyond reputeDuncan Roberts has a reputation beyond reputeDuncan Roberts has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I could be wrong, but many ISPs lock you from using FTP if you are not signed on with your account. Kind of dumb if you ask me.
One thing you have to watch is the amount of space youre getting. 50 mb might seem a lot but it really isnt unless youre just going to have text
Duncan Roberts is offline  
Old Jan 27th 2004, 2:55 pm
  #13  
Rock Goddess
Thread Starter
 
Rockgurl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 1,429
Rockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond reputeRockgurl has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Thanks everyone...appreciate that. I've been using Freeserve trouble free for so long that I had no clue about other companies. I'll check them out.
Rockgurl is offline  
Old Jan 27th 2004, 5:47 pm
  #14  
BE Forum Addict
 
CitySimon's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Palmyra, NY
Posts: 2,130
CitySimon has a reputation beyond reputeCitySimon has a reputation beyond reputeCitySimon has a reputation beyond reputeCitySimon has a reputation beyond reputeCitySimon has a reputation beyond reputeCitySimon has a reputation beyond reputeCitySimon has a reputation beyond reputeCitySimon has a reputation beyond reputeCitySimon has a reputation beyond reputeCitySimon has a reputation beyond reputeCitySimon has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I have been using WSFTP in NY to update my England based web site since I arrived here...

We are on broadband rather than dial-up though. Not sure if that will make any difference.
CitySimon is offline  
Old Jan 29th 2004, 2:09 am
  #15  
Here we go Pittsburgh!
 
ukemigrant's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Pittsburgh PA, USA
Posts: 581
ukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: FTP problem

Originally posted by Rockgurl
Does anyone know anything about FTP? I've been using WSFTP LE for yonks, but when I moved I bought a new computer and downloaded it again. I'm sure I've entered all the setting just as they were but it just won't connect me. I have a website with Freeserve and I've always used this program to upload files to it so why won't it work now? Freeserve give their uploads address as: uploads.webspace.freeserve.net but I've entered it correctly and it won't work. All the user name and password entries are the same and I've checked and double checked them. I remember the first time I used the program I had problems connecting and my friend told me to alter one tiny thing in the uploads address like for example add ftp:// before it...I've tried all sorts of combinations but it still won't work. Help! Here's my settings:

Profile name: (You can choose a name here - it's not related to the website as such)

Host/Name Address: uploads.webspace.freeserve.net

Host Type: Automatic Detect

Username: username.freeserve.co.uk

Password: xxxxxx
Hi, I used to have a freeserve account before I moved out here, and it worked for quite a while, but one day it stopped working. I figured it was because I was no longer a dialup customer with them and just let all the stuff go....

If you can still get your email, this may not be your problem....

Sam.
ukemigrant is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.