FBAR Errors

Old Jan 2nd 2024, 11:36 pm
Just Joined

mykee is an unknown quantity at this point
Question FBAR Errors

Hello ,
I just registered as a member and therefore new to this forum. I need some urgent assistance with FBAR errors.

I worked in the UK for 21 years and 21 in USA and just retired. I have been submitting FBAR for over 10 years declaring amount in my UK Bank UK accunt, but now I realised
there were errors I made noted below -

1) I had couple of pensions in the UK that I never thought about entering in my FBAR submissions, primarily because there was no income from the pensions.
After retiring this year I received the 25% "Tax Free" distributions and realized that I should have entered the pension details in my previous FBARs.

2) I had 2 bank accounts (Savings and Checking), but I always declared one bank account that had 99% of the money in my FBAR submissions.

3) My FBAR for last three years had incorrect amounts declared.

4) In reviewing my FBARs for last 6 years, I discovered that in 2018 and 2019 there I forgot to add foreign earned interest totalling around $750.
submiited on my 1040s.

Should I resubmit my FBARs for the last 6 years with corrected information including the 1040s fpr 2018 and 2019? Am I likely to incur penalties and if so any throughts on the $ value?

I'm extremely concerend so any advice would be much appreciated. Thank you in advance.
Old Jan 3rd 2024, 12:07 am
tht
DE-UK-NZ-IE-US... the TYP

tht has a reputation beyond reputetht has a reputation beyond reputetht has a reputation beyond reputetht has a reputation beyond reputetht has a reputation beyond reputetht has a reputation beyond reputetht has a reputation beyond reputetht has a reputation beyond reputetht has a reputation beyond reputetht has a reputation beyond reputetht has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: FBAR Errors

Originally Posted by mykee
Hello ,