Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Driving in the US

Driving in the US

Old Aug 27th 2007, 9:49 pm
Forum Regular

Okuda will become famous soon enoughOkuda will become famous soon enough
Default Driving in the US

How was your first time driving in the US?

Was you nervous, was it confusing for you, did you nearly, or did have an accident? Did you get used to it quickly? Did you have problems when you traveled back to England and needed to drive there?

Do you have any tips/suggestions that helped you get used to the American way of driving?

I've been driving in England for 8 years ~ But the concept of driving over here just puts the fear of God in me. It's silly really because I know *how* to drive, it's just I still have a number of those "Stomp your foot in the passenger foot well breaking moments" in my Husbands car when he is driving because of the other cars coming the "wrong way" at me!

I just have a fear that if I was let loose on my own here, I'd have one of those stomping moments and cause an accident. I think I may go to a drivers school for some lessons here with someone experienced.
Old Aug 27th 2007, 11:11 pm
Militant Ginger

Roland Hulme has a reputation beyond reputeRoland Hulme has a reputation beyond reputeRoland Hulme has a reputation beyond reputeRoland Hulme has a reputation beyond reputeRoland Hulme has a reputation beyond reputeRoland Hulme has a reputation beyond reputeRoland Hulme has a reputation beyond reputeRoland Hulme has a reputation beyond reputeRoland Hulme has a reputation beyond reputeRoland Hulme has a reputation beyond reputeRoland Hulme has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Driving in the US

I drove in France for a couple of years first, so I was used to driving on the right. It's driving on the wrong side of the car that confused me.

About a week ago, I pulled up to a traffic light and said: "What's that twat doing on the other side of the road? He's in the same lane as me."