Reload this Page >

Driving all around the US!

Driving all around the US!

Old Feb 9th 2011, 2:45 pm
Just Joined

alexandicity is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Driving all around the US!

Hello there, fellow expats!

I'm studying in the US and will be (hopefully!) graduating in May. I have 60 days on my Visa after this and want to make the most of them by doing the quintessential American roadtrip. I want to go everywhere and see everything in those two months! I plan to start in Chicago, head West to Seattle, South to LA, East (somehow) to Florida then North to Boston, from where I will fly home.

What I need, however, is a reality check. I've not been in a car journey longer than 12 hours before. Google tells me my expected trip will take 160 hours on the road to cover 10000 miles. That's a lot of miles. I rationalise because it is only 160 odd each say - but clearly some days will be longer (the corn fields of the midwest) and other shorter (spending a few days enjoying some of the cities we visit).

I had two burning questions. Assuming I don't spend anything on accommodation (we plan to hammock wild and Couchsurf) and I exclude $1000 for gas, I come to a fairly optimistic total living cost of about $1500 each - a little over $20 a day. We won't be splurging on food, but allowing for visits to national parks, a few tourist/sports activities and the occasional night on the town, does this sound like a plausible budget? Or am I kidding myself?

The second question is more "has anyone done this and what did you think"? I've seen a few reports, mostly much shorter (coast-to-coast typically) and almost always positive. But this far? Am I setting myself up for disaster here? What can I do to mitigate risks to our comfort and well-being?

Cheers!
Old Feb 9th 2011, 2:59 pm
Heading for Poppyland