Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Car Insurance, UK

Car Insurance, UK

Old Apr 7th 2016, 4:36 pm
Just Joined

gorasahib is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Car Insurance, UK

I have to go back to the UK for periods of time over the next year or so, sometimes for several months.

Whilst I could hire a car for some of that time, it will get quite expensive.
I've been trying to figure out how I would be able to use a car (either buy or borrow) on my US driving license and have UK car insurance. I am a US resident so know that I shouldn't use my UK license to drive any more. I do have an address in the UK so perhaps that helps.

In any case, I have been unable to get any useful information about how I could get car insurance in the UK using my US driving license whilst no longer being a resident of the UK.

Does anyone know if that is possible and, if so, how would I go about it?

Thanks
Old Apr 7th 2016, 4:41 pm
BE Forum Addict

MidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond reputeMidAtlantic has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Car Insurance, UK

Originally Posted by gorasahib
I have to go back to the UK for periods of time over the next year or so, sometimes for several months.

I've been trying to figure out how I would be able to use a car (either buy or borrow) on my US driving license and have UK car insurance. I am a US resident so know that I shouldn't use my UK license to drive any more. I do have an address in the UK so perhaps that helps.