Beer & Pubs

Old Apr 1st 2004, 5:42 pm
up the gunners

dowjones is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Beer & Pubs

For Brits, and those "British by injection" (as my wife recently described herself), be sure to visit "Brits Pub" by Nicollet Mall in Minneapolis, MN if you ever get the chance.

Curry is decent, and Stella brings back the memories.

Read in a paper there the other week that Bob Monkhouse died, BTW.

I'm an investment broker (& UK citizen) in W Wisconsin and it is my dream to retire at 45 and invest my hard saved $s into opening up a British pub.

What a dream...anyone had any success trying something similar?

Matt
Old Apr 1st 2004, 6:19 pm
Living in Milwaukee, USA!

mcjimbo will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Beer & Pubs

There are enough British Expat's out that way. Most probably long for something that reminds them of home. I'm moving to Wisconsin and would love to find an authentic, or as authentic as can be British pub in Wisconsin.

You would have to get the following beers, all fav's: Becks, Boddingtons and London Pride

I think its a great idea!
Old Apr 1st 2004, 6:27 pm

katesuiter1 is an unknown quantity at this point

Originally posted by mcjimbo
You would have to get the following beers, all fav's: Becks, Boddingtons and London Pride

I think its a great idea!
Don't forget John Smith's bitter!!! When I was a party animal, I started getting such bad hangovers with lager, I switched to the bitter, and I got totally addicted to it!! I got some funny looks from people in the pubs, though. They couldn't understand why a 5'5", 110lb woman would want to stand there with a pint of bitter!!! I don't touch the stuff now, though. Corey doesn't drink at all, and I didn't want to get plastered in front of him, as it's really annoying having a drunk person lolling all over the place when you're sober as a judge!!!

Good luck in your endeavour, dowjones!!!!

Kate. xxxx
Old Apr 1st 2004, 6:32 pm
GJB
dart throwin' doofus