Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Is it because they're so similar to us?

Is it because they're so similar to us?

Old May 22nd 2006, 3:01 pm
Old Biddy

Default Is it because they're so similar to us?

Hello everyone. Long time lurker and first time poster.

Having travelled round the world a bit, and with a few expat friends in different parts of the world, I've come to realize that Expats living in the US seem to be a little more intolerable of adopting to their way of life, customs, and habits as opposed to someone who moves to Japan or Spain.

For example, I think their is much more of a "When in Rome" attitude when visiting Asia. ExPats learn to adopt the bowing, the attitudes to women, the language barrier, the strange TV shows, etc with respect. In Spain, Expats are happy to deal with the siestas (and everything shutting down), people who can't speak good English, the food, etc.

I'm not too good at communicating this via internet, lol, but hopefully you guys can get the idea of what I'm trying to say. I feel that when visiting anywhere else in the world, Brits tend to have a "Well, this is their country and I'm going to have to adapt to their way of life while I'm here" mentality, while in America, Brits tend to roll their eyes, chuckle to themselves and think "Oh...these silly Yanks. If I have to stand for their national anthem at every sports game, or tell everyone to have a nice day then so be it..."

I think to some extent there is a degree of mild snobbery, as though we are visiting our simpleton cousins for Christmas Day or something. We are often guilty of sneering at their way of life, their American-English, their manners or their customs. I think we are less respectful in that sense - often viewing it as 'wrong' rather than 'different'.