Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Advice on moving to the USA

Advice on moving to the USA

Old Oct 30th 2003, 12:05 pm
Forum Regular

postie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Advice on moving to the USA

Hi, this is my first time on this site so please bear with me!! Can somene give me some advice on moving to the USA? My situation is this....I am 46 years old. My wife is 43 and we have twin sons aged 18. We are all British and living in the UK. 3 years ago my wife finally found her American father and since then everything has been great except that they both want to try to make up for the 40 years apart and we'd like to move to the USA.
I am a fully qualified auto mechanic with 30 years experiance and spent 13 and a half years in the Royal Air Force.
My wifes fathers name is not on her birth certificate so I believe she can't apply for a family based visa. We thought we'd try for a work visa.
My wifes uncle (also an American) has his own small trucking company and is willing to employ me and also sponsor me and mine.
Any help and advice would be great. Love the site and enjoy reading everyones news.
Thanks a lot!
Postie
Old Oct 30th 2003, 12:16 pm

BrigieDarling will become famous soon enough

I wonder if a paternity test would solve any doubts because he isn't on her Brith Certificate?

Anyway... welcome to the board Postie!
Old Oct 30th 2003, 12:27 pm
Forum Regular

Originally posted by BrigieDarling
I wonder if a paternity test would solve any doubts because he isn't on her Brith Certificate?

Anyway... welcome to the board Postie!