Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Absolutely Desperate

Absolutely Desperate

Old Aug 28th 2003, 3:06 pm
Just Joined

allycat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Absolutely Desperate

I am so desperate. I have been travelling to Florida for the past 10 years or so and have been trying to move here for all that time. None of the people that I know have been able to help with a job offer although I have a trustworthy immigration lawyer ready to act on my behalf. I am in Florida at the moment by due to go back to the UK on 2nd Sept.

I have somewhere to live as my parents have a home here but are also unable to stay longer than six months. Unfortunately,I am not a professional although have been in the same job for 8 years now and am computer literate.

The reason that I am so desperate now is that my daughter will be 21 next August and will then have to apply in her own right to come here.

So many of you have been able to settle her surely somebody is in a position to offer sponsorship. I was widowed several years ago and am sure you will agree that the US offers a richer lifestyle than that in the UK.

Can anyone help or point me in the right direction.
Old Aug 28th 2003, 3:26 pm
Forum Regular

vlad is an unknown quantity at this point

Are you dating some one ? If so then get married.

Or else you'll have almost no chance unless you want to immigrate as enterprener or investor . Enterprener - this requires part of existing US business being at least 50% owned and managed by you.
You'll get L-1 visa which is good for 5 years and can be extended.
You can find more information if you search www.google.com or other search engines, or go staight to www.immigration.com
L1 or Investor visa does not make you eligable for employment
so you are really on you own .
Old Aug 28th 2003, 3:39 pm
Just Joined