Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Why does the INS take so long to process I-485 (and everything else)?

Why does the INS take so long to process I-485 (and everything else)?

Old Jul 5th 2001, 4:44 am
Noah Spamless

Why doesn't the INS hire more personnel to process petitions and AOS cases? It can't
possibly take them a year or more to process them. If they need more people, why
don't they hire them and raise the corresponding fees to cover the costs?

Old Jul 5th 2001, 12:00 pm
Alvena Ferreira

Noah Spamless wrote:
    >
    >
    >

Budgetary constraints, which are set by congress. The fees received do not necessary
go into INS's spending budget, FWIW. It is the congress who tells them how much they
can spend.

Alvena
===
I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice; this is my personal opinion, posted
for the purpose of discussion only.
===
K-1 FAQ: http://www.k1faq.com Timelines: http://www.wkh.org/ A great K-1 Site:
http://pages.prodigy.net/alixtcat/immigrat.htm Marriage Visa Pages:
http://www.mindspring.com/~docsteen/...o/visainfo.htm
===

Old Jul 5th 2001, 1:40 pm
JT

Well, as Alvena has already said, congress controls the budget. So in reality,
politics plays a big part in it. It is simplistic to think they could just hire
more people, spend more money, and improve things. However there are people (mostly
conservatives) who would go ape if this happened. Look at the current political
regime that just cut taxes, and are refunding excess money collected from
taxpayers. Conservatives believe in a smaller Government, with less Government
spending. So while there is a conservative president in office, it is highly
unlikely that you will see any Government agency (besides the Department of
Defense) grow in size significantly or get more money. Also, hiring more people
would require more office space, requiring new facilities, requiring more money. So