Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Visa Waiver and volunteering/90 day rule

Visa Waiver and volunteering/90 day rule

Old Sep 3rd 2007, 11:09 pm
Just Joined

JEN82 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Visa Waiver and volunteering/90 day rule

Visiting U.S. for 90 days on the visa waiver program and got 2 queries:

1- I know its illegal to do any type of paid employment while I'm there, but can I do volunteer work? I'm an ESL English teacher and I know there are loads of opportunities to teach English as a volunteer in Chicago (where I'll be). Am I able to legally volunteer over the 3 months?

2 I've booked my return flight to the UK on the 90th day after my flight out there. After reading another thread in which it was advised to book max of 88 days after outward flight (in case of flight delays), I've gone into a slight panic! Can you really get into trouble for being over the 90 days if its a case of a flight delay?

Cheers for help!
Old Sep 3rd 2007, 11:20 pm
Arrogant ****

dbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Visa Waiver and volunteering/90 day rule

Originally Posted by JEN82

1- I know its illegal to do any type of paid employment while I'm there, but can I do volunteer work? I'm an ESL English teacher and I know there are loads of opportunities to teach English as a volunteer in Chicago (where I'll be). Am I able to legally volunteer over the 3 months?