Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

US Student Visa + Extending stay after course

US Student Visa + Extending stay after course

Old Feb 21st 2013, 4:22 pm
Just Joined

CheapTat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default US Student Visa + Extending stay after course

Hi,

I am a student from the UK and I'm eligible for a J-1 for studying in Texas next academic year. I would really like to take some time to see the country after my course finishes but the J-1 only allows for 30 days after your course before you are required to leave. I was wondering if anyone knew if there was any way I might be able to legally stay on for 2/3 months over the summer to explore a bit?

Thanks for any help!!
Alex
Old Feb 21st 2013, 4:28 pm

Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US Student Visa + Extending stay after course

Originally Posted by CheapTat
Hi,

I am a student from the UK and I'm eligible for a J-1 for studying in Texas next academic year. I would really like to take some time to see the country after my course finishes but the J-1 only allows for 30 days after your course before you are required to leave. I was wondering if anyone knew if there was any way I might be able to legally stay on for 2/3 months over the summer to explore a bit?

Thanks for any help!!
Alex
Maybe exit to Canada and return to the USA on the VWP? You will have to show a return flight leaving the USA within 90 days of your entry.

Rene
Old Feb 21st 2013, 5:30 pm
Just Joined