URGENT visa question

Old Oct 25th 2021, 9:01 am
Just Joined

HarvardHopeful is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation URGENT visa question

Hi All,

I have applied competitively for a 10 month fellowship programme at Harvard University, Boston. My background is that I am a junior doctor, working in the UK.

It looks as though I have a good chance of being selected for the programme. However, after completing the interviews etc the issue is that the programme is unable to sponsor me for a visa.

I am a UK national. No criminal record, not overstayed my welcome at any time in USA etc.

Is this it? Am I unable to pursue the fellowship because the programme are unable to sponsor my visa or is there a way that I can gain entry to complete the programme?

I have a call with the course director this afternoon, hence the urgent nature of the question!

Thank you for your advice.
Old Oct 25th 2021, 11:51 am
Just Joined

MrShine is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: URGENT visa question

They should be able to sponsor you for a J1 visa. As far as I know it's the only visa they can sponsor you for, but it's also exactly for something like this (professional training). I'm surprised the program doesn't have something in place for this already.
Old Oct 25th 2021, 12:47 pm
BE Enthusiast

postbox134 has a reputation beyond reputepostbox134 has a reputation beyond reputepostbox134 has a reputation beyond reputepostbox134 has a reputation beyond reputepostbox134 has a reputation beyond reputepostbox134 has a reputation beyond reputepostbox134 has a reputation beyond reputepostbox134 has a reputation beyond reputepostbox134 has a reputation beyond reputepostbox134 has a reputation beyond reputepostbox134 has a reputation beyond repute

Someone I knew who did medical school in Caribbean had a B1 visa to do residencies in the mainland US. Is that something they can look into? 10 months would be too long though...
Old Oct 25th 2021, 1:40 pm
Just Joined

Hi there,