Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Is receipt date equal to being current?

Is receipt date equal to being current?

Old Feb 14th 2001, 11:18 am
zk

Hi,

I am first time here in this newsgroup, so please forgive me if it is already in FAQ.

When I was a student on F1, my parents (foster) had applied I130 for
me. They had green card at that time. My receipt date on the Notice Of Action said March
10, 98. I think 203(a)(2)(B) is what it was filed under. Now, I'm on my first year of
H1. I would REALLY APPRECIATE if someone can help me with my confusions.

1. Since my parents will be applying for naturalization next month (3 months before 5
years of residency), do I need to apply I130 again? Or will my old application 2B
bumped up priority automatically?

2. I checked the processing time just now (TXC) and it said that they are processing cases
for Jan, 98. So even my old I130 should be close. But only two years ago when I tried
to file I485, the officer said mine is FAR from current as they are still processing
1992 receipt date. I am not from any country with long immigration queue (like China,
Inida etc..) if it matters. Did INS speed up that much these two years or am I not
understanding correctly?

3. Since, my I130 was filed before April of this year, do I qualify for 245(i)
automatically? But since I'm on H1, actually I don't need this really, is it correct?
This would only apply to me, if I get fired like tomorrow and stay illegally till my
citizen parents apply for me again?

4. My current company is very nice company (a former client of mine), and already offered
me a couple of times if I would like my green card through them. Should I also ask the
company to go ahead and process the labor certs and such as well? IMO, I thought
applying through two venues might not be good in the eyes of INS. Say, if I could,
which would be faster? Family based or Employment based at this point?