Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Questions about visa application timeframe. Is it cut and dry or more flexible?

Questions about visa application timeframe. Is it cut and dry or more flexible?

Old Dec 24th 2013, 11:29 am
Joseph Gadsby

jgadsby is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Questions about visa application timeframe. Is it cut and dry or more flexible?

Hello everyone,

I'm thinking about moving to the USA to work - and I do have a job offer already. I have a degree and a year's work experience and I qualify for the job (of course) - and this puts me as a third preference immigrant(?) for an employment-based immigrant visa. I also have friends and family in the USA (not blood relatives, but my girlfriend's family). My girlfriend also knows a lot of people who would be willing to give me a job, and can name off the top of her head 7 other potential job opportunities - so getting a job really is not a problem.

My girlfriend was born in the USA and currently lives there, and is thinking about doing a Masters and PHD there starting September 2014. I currently live in the UK and would like to join her, getting an apartment together. All good so far - and I meet all the requirements of work visas (no criminal record, good background, good health, etc).

My questions are more to do with the timing of the visa application process. If I started applying within the next few weeks, how long would it take to get a Green Card, bearing in mind that my girlfriend can handle the documents and physically take them to the locations they need to be mailed to, rather than having to go via post? Obviously, the ideal situation would be to be able to move at the same time my girlfriend starts studying in September - but moving a few months later wouldn't be so bad. I have heard estimates of 9 to 18 months.