Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Obtaining a visa to teach in Miami Dade County

Obtaining a visa to teach in Miami Dade County

Old Feb 27th 2019, 9:32 pm
Just Joined

rlwat94 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Obtaining a visa to teach in Miami Dade County

Hello,

My partner has recently moved to Miami as part of his work. Obviously I would ideally like to join him.

I am a fully qualified teacher in the United Kingdom and have 2 years of experience as a full time qualified teacher. I have received promotions in that time. I also have an undergraduate degree at Durham University, a top tier university in the UK, especially for History and Classics. I currently teach history but would also be willing to teach English as it is an area of shortage for Florida.

I have been in touch with Miami-Dade County Public Schools as I am aware of the J1 exchange visa for teachers. However they have told me that they only employ international teachers who are legally authorised to work in the US without sponsorship as they do not sponsor foreign applicants. The J1 exchange requires a sponsorship.

Therefore I am wondering if anybody could give me some advice on how I would be able to obtain authorisation to work without a sponsor? Are there any visas I could be directed to? Unfortunately I am quite restricted in my location as it is Miami where I would want to move to be with my partner.

Many thanks in advance
Rachel
Old Feb 27th 2019, 9:46 pm
BE Enthusiast

sherbert has a reputation beyond reputesherbert has a reputation beyond reputesherbert has a reputation beyond reputesherbert has a reputation beyond reputesherbert has a reputation beyond reputesherbert has a reputation beyond reputesherbert has a reputation beyond reputesherbert has a reputation beyond reputesherbert has a reputation beyond reputesherbert has a reputation beyond reputesherbert has a reputation beyond repute