money transfer

Old Apr 30th 2004, 5:21 pm
Just me!

antjen has a reputation beyond reputeantjen has a reputation beyond reputeantjen has a reputation beyond reputeantjen has a reputation beyond reputeantjen has a reputation beyond reputeantjen has a reputation beyond reputeantjen has a reputation beyond reputeantjen has a reputation beyond reputeantjen has a reputation beyond reputeantjen has a reputation beyond reputeantjen has a reputation beyond repute
Default money transfer

as im just starting out in my whole visa process, looking ahead to when i move - what is the easiet and cheapest method of transfering large amounts of money (i.e. home sales) from uk to america?? - how has everyone else done this and what sort of charges are involved?? - thanks!!

Anthony
Old May 1st 2004, 9:08 am
US resident at last :)

mstracy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: money transfer

Personally, I use www.xe.com for larger amounts (>£1000) and use wire transfer from my bank for anything smaller. You get a good rate from xe but you have to pay wire transfer fees twice so it's only a good deal if you have larger amounts. I used them when we bought our house in the US and had no problems and a good rate of exchange (well for the time anyway, shame we didn't wait a year or so).

Mark

Originally posted by antjen
as im just starting out in my whole visa process, looking ahead to when i move - what is the easiet and cheapest method of transfering large amounts of money (i.e. home sales) from uk to america?? - how has everyone else done this and what sort of charges are involved?? - thanks!!

Anthony
Old May 1st 2004, 2:54 pm
Just me!