Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

L1 visa for permanent transfer to US

L1 visa for permanent transfer to US

Old Sep 19th 2014, 8:03 am
Just Joined

Lady11 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default L1 visa for permanent transfer to US

Hello Members,

I have been working at headquarters of my company for last 3 years. My company plans to permanently transfer me to US on L1. However, my company is asking to resign from home country and accept offer letter from US based subsidiary. I will be on US payrolls with no payment in home country.

HR at US is telling me that to get L1, I should get a letter from headquarters supporting that I will return back to headquarters after few years.

I plan to file for Greencard once in US.

Is permanent transfer to US an issue for L1. Has anyone got his/her L1 approved without showing that the person will move back to home country.

An attorney will be involved at a later stage but need opinion from experienced people.

Regards,
Old Sep 19th 2014, 11:43 am
BE Enthusiast

AlphaTangoMike has a reputation beyond reputeAlphaTangoMike has a reputation beyond reputeAlphaTangoMike has a reputation beyond reputeAlphaTangoMike has a reputation beyond reputeAlphaTangoMike has a reputation beyond reputeAlphaTangoMike has a reputation beyond reputeAlphaTangoMike has a reputation beyond reputeAlphaTangoMike has a reputation beyond reputeAlphaTangoMike has a reputation beyond reputeAlphaTangoMike has a reputation beyond reputeAlphaTangoMike has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: L1 visa for permanent transfer to US

Welcome to the forum.

I will start by saying that an immigration attorney is one of the 'experienced people' that you mentioned and that you should start with one first (rather than by taking advice from random strangers on the internet).