L1-A or something else?

Old Oct 31st 2009, 2:31 am
Just Joined

wookey is an unknown quantity at this point
Default L1-A or something else?

Hello,

Can anyone proficient help me to decide. I am a permanent resident of the UK but not a citizen. I own a small consultancy business with 2 employees my wife and myself. The turnover is about 100k USD/year. I have couple of business proposals that can double my revenue instantly, but only if I expand my business to the US. I am looking at the L1-A for new office visa.

I consulted with a lawyer 6 months ago and he saw my case as weak because of lack of the revenue and no evidence of continuing operation of the UK company after I move to the US. Since then I doubled my revenue. However the problem with proofs of the UK company sustainability are still required and here I need an advice. What can I do? Also the lawyer saw my business plan of the US company as strong, but I see a weakness in terms of extending the visa after the first year period.

The nature of my business (expertise and consulting B2B) does not require to hire employees. I will probably hire my wife to do the paper stuff and talk to clients but I am not going to employ american people.

So, my mine concern is if L1-A is for me? If not, what else I can do? Can you recommend me a lawyer who is able to sort this out?

Thank you.
Old Oct 31st 2009, 4:44 am
Account Closed

scrubbedexpat099 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: L1-A or something else?

If you qualify, the Green Card Lottery looks your best bet.

I can see why the Lawyer is sceptical.

The E2 is a non contender, no employees.
Old Oct 31st 2009, 1:29 pm
Account Closed