J-1 Visa Issues and Questions

Old Feb 6th 2011, 5:48 pm
Just Joined

h-lyfe is an unknown quantity at this point
Default J-1 Visa Issues and Questions

Hi guys,

I've been reading the forum for a while now and it's been brilliantly helpful, thanks

Now I have a few questions I was hoping you can help me with, apologies for the long post in advance but please bear with me!

Firstly to set the scene i'm a UKC and my girlfriend is a USC. We met in Spain a year and a bit ago and have been together since. She has been living in Spain teaching English for the last two years and is returning to the US this summer.

I am a recent graduate and am looking at doing a year long internship on a J1 starting at the latest this June, however I have a few concerns I am hoping you might kindly be able to help me with.

The following is all based on the assumption I manage to find an internship

Firstly, I have read somewhere that the application forms for the J1 require that you declare the existence of any US relatives etc. Is this true? If so would I have to mention my girlfriend on this form? Or if asked at the interview i'm assuming I would have to reveal our relationship? (I am super keen to keep this all above board and avoid anything that could be considered immigration fraud).

I'm guessing that if they find out i'm in a relationship with a USC at this point there's a good chance my J1 application would probably be denied?

My next question leads on from this, from my research am I correct in thinking that if my J1 application is denied this will make life awfully difficult in the future with any other visa applications and I will be unable to travel to the US on the VWP anymore?

Furthermore, should I obtain a J1 visa without USCIS discovering I have a US partner, then one day we decide to marry and I come over on a K-1 will they realise that we were together when I filed the J-1 and reject my K-1 application/administer me a ban on the basis of immigration fraud?