How early can I file for AOS?

Old Dec 18th 2002, 2:25 pm
Just Joined

Capn is an unknown quantity at this point
Default How early can I file for AOS?

I'm currently a conditional permanent resident after immigrating to the US to marry my wife in 2001. My paperwork states that I have to file my AOS papers to remove the conditions in October 2003. Howerve3r, it also says that I should submit them earlier than this due to the excessive processing times. My question is, how soon can I file the papers, as I wouldn't want INS to bounce them for being in too early.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Ian (Cap'n)
Old Dec 18th 2002, 3:03 pm
Account Closed

Folinskyinla is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How early can I file for AOS?

Originally posted by Capn
I'm currently a conditional permanent resident after immigrating to the US to marry my wife in 2001. My paperwork states that I have to file my AOS papers to remove the conditions in October 2003. Howerve3r, it also says that I should submit them earlier than this due to the excessive processing times. My question is, how soon can I file the papers, as I wouldn't want INS to bounce them for being in too early.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Ian (Cap'n)
Hi:

One -- to get the pedantic part of me out of the way -- you will be petitioning to remove the conditions. You are not "AOS" because you are ALREADY a "permanent resident." However, every grant of PR has certain conditions which keep it from being truly permanent -- e.g. there is a condtion that you not commit certain crimes. In the case of marriage LPR, there is often imposed a "condition" that you file the I-751.

Timeing -- if you and your wife are filing a joint petition, the filing window is the 90 day period preceding the second anniversery of ADMISSION to CPR status. There is a waiver for a LATE filing. There is no waiver for early filing.