Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Help for a Friend who overstayed her stay

Help for a Friend who overstayed her stay

Old Feb 11th 2008, 10:16 pm
Just Joined

leeann92571 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Help for a Friend who overstayed her stay

Hi, I am completely new at all of this info, but I am trying to help a new friend. She is british and has been here since approximately April of 07. She has been here before on visits but recently came back in early 07 planning to stay here becuase she had met a man and began a relationship. Before her stay expired, she married him. They are still married, living together and it appears very legitimate as they are still very frisky in their first year of marriage!
Anyways, she originally had a lawyer helping her, but he turned out to not have filed some proper paperwork for her. Now, as of the end of February, she is 180 days over her overstay period.
She came into the states, claimed the money she brought in, she then purchased a home and a car outright. She is paying car insurance, but it is possible it is in her husbands name. But I do know she does not have a US license yet because she is afraid becuase of her overstay period so long expired.
She is kinda in limbo, she is not sure what to do and has had people tell her to put her house on the market and get her husband as her legal power of attorney to sell any items for her in case she is deported immediately.
Question is...what are her options? And will they come in the middle of the night and grab her and deport her immediately?
Any insight will help tremendously as the lawyer she had previously was a joke and even showed up drunk to one of their consults. I feel it would be best for her to gain some knowledge so she can better understand her options as she is trying to get another lawyer.
Your help is greatly appreciated!
Old Feb 11th 2008, 10:31 pm