Greetings and help required

Old Apr 17th 2011, 7:39 pm
Just Joined

AmericanFuture is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Greetings and help required

Hi there,
I'm new to all of this so please bear with me
I think I may qualify for an EB2 if not then EB3.
-> I work for a US company but currently am in the UK. I take it from what I have read that to get going with EB2 or EB3 then my company needs to be trying to hire me for a particular position. If this is the case, then I guess the notion of applying from over here doesn't really hold: if the employer needs to go to these lengths then they are gonna really want me in the US. So GC application under these categories is by definition ON-SHORE right?
-> At a push, I may qualify for the EB2 waiver. Is that really realistic unless I am some world-class scientist, which I am not?!
-> Assuming I move to the US under employer sponsored EB2, what roughly can I expect the processing time to be? I know the answer to this is how long is a piece of string, but can I not get a rough idea? Also, how much quicker is:
(i) EB2 over EB3? (ii) Premium Priority Processing (or whatever it is called)?
-> My company typically get people over on an L1. From what I understand, under this VISA I have rough 10 days to leave the country if my job ceases to exist. Is that right? If I did manage to get another employer to sponsor me how does that marry with this very short period, after all doesn't it take quite a bit of time for the employer to show a need for "alien" employment?? The 10 days think makes me nervous but I wonder if I understood stuff better it may put my mind at ease.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

PS Please be gentle!
Old Apr 17th 2011, 7:59 pm
BE Forum Addict