Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Freelance writing while visiting USA

Freelance writing while visiting USA

Old Oct 16th 2008, 8:37 pm
Urz
Just Joined

Urz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Freelance writing while visiting USA

I am an IT consultant (Australian living in the UK). I'd like to visit the US for a few months and do some travel writing while I'm there, although not necessarily for US publications.

Do I need a visa for this? If so, which one would be appropriate? (Given that I'm not employed as a writer, it doesn't look as though an I-visa would be an option.)

I'm eligible for an E3 but I don't know who could sign the labour market section given that I wouldn't have a US employer, and since the travel writing would be more a bonus addition to the savings I would use to support myself, rather than really being my income.

Can anyone help?
Old Oct 16th 2008, 9:10 pm
Ray

Ray has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Freelance writing while visiting USA

Originally Posted by Urz
I am an IT consultant (Australian living in the UK). I'd like to visit the US for a few months and do some travel writing while I'm there, although not necessarily for US publications.

Do I need a visa for this? If so, which one would be appropriate? (Given that I'm not employed as a writer, it doesn't look as though an I-visa would be an option.)