Fired on E2

Old Jan 29th 2008, 11:25 pm
Just Joined

jrobert2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Fired on E2

Hi all, I'm a first-time poster.

I have been working in the US for a few years on an E2 visa through my employer. However, my agency is downsizing and as a result, my employment has been terminated.

I have spoken to an immigration lawyer about my options and as I was going to marry my American girlfriend (5+ years) we have decided to opt for a shotgun marriage and file for green card immediately. My lawyer seems to think this is a good option.

The one question is, my lawyer says the expiration of the E2 is a "grey area" and i can't seem to find any solid information on when I would no longer technically be on an E2. Does anybody know the rules on this as I am not the actual investor, just an employee of the investor? I am still being paid by my agency for a couple of weeks. Does this help? Has anyone been in the same situation?

Many thanks
Old Jan 30th 2008, 12:52 am

Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Fired on E2

Originally Posted by jrobert2
Actually, you might have forgotten, but you posted back in April and May of 2005. You were on a J-1 and going for an H1-B back then.

If you're marrying your USC girlfriend, I would say it doesn't really matter too much when your E-2 stops. If it stops before you apply for AOS, you'll be here without status until the AOS is accepted, so just be careful not to get into any trouble with the law. Your out of status should be forgiven because you will be married to a USC.

Best Wishes,
Rene