ESTA, B2 or time to give up?

Old Jun 18th 2019, 1:17 pm
Just Joined

ramblestan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default ESTA, B2 or time to give up?

Hi! Firstly a big thank you to anyone taking the time to read and respond to this post. I'm one of the many with a messy US visa situation through mistakes and would love some thoughts on the best way forward.

TL.DR: Rejected from J1 visa in early Feb 2019. Applied (stupidly) for an ESTA the very next day and was automatically denied. Now no longer seeking any opportunity in USA but I have a close friend's wedding in NYC in Mid-August which I am desperate to go to, although my chances look slim. Should I reapply for ESTA, try for a B2 or give up?

My background is in finance, due diligence and investing. I've lived in London my whole life and am British. In Oct 2018 I had a new job with an investor and we were looking at an opportunity in USA. I traveled there for around 85 days to conduct due diligence and help with the investment. During my time there I was offered the opportunity to join the company short term as a trainee finance director. Spoke to a lawyer who recommended the J1. Had my interview on 6 February 2019 in London US embassy and was denied under 214 (b) with the reason given that I did not fit the category of the J1 visa. Specifically, the interviewer felt I was trying to 'get around the system', that I was too experienced for a J1 and was suspicious of my previous near 90 day trip to the States. In hindsight, yes it doesn't look great. But hey, hindsight is 20-20 and all that.

I took some very bad advice to immediately apply for an ESTA (my old one ran out during my 85 day trip). I thought this would allow me to go on occasional trips for financial oversight purposes. Big mistake, but too late - automatic ESTA denial issued.