deportation issue

Old Jan 22nd 2017, 12:00 pm
Just Joined

Heather1964 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default deportation issue

Hi I have a major problem, I have been a permenant resident of this country for 12 yrs I am a Canadian citizen ,i married a American, I did a huge wrong,, I was told I could vote, big mistake, come to find out I wasn't allowed to,, my neighbor tells me I will be deported now, I was to file for citizenchip next month as my 10 year visa runs out in August 2017 Help,, what do I do now, do I pack my things and go back to Canada , I am very worried now, and feel pretty stupid for voting

and information and help would be appreciated

Thanks

Last edited by Heather1964; Jan 22nd 2017 at 12:31 pm.
Old Jan 22nd 2017, 12:22 pm

Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: deportation issue

If you are a US Permanent Resident, you don't have a visa. Do you mean your 10-year green card?

I believe US PRs are allowed to vote in some small local elections, but I assume you are talking about the Presidential election?

You need to consult with an immigration attorney.

Rene
Old Jan 22nd 2017, 12:24 pm
Just Joined

Originally Posted by Noorah101
If you are a US Permanent Resident, you don't have a visa. Do you mean your 10-year green card?

I believe US PRs are allowed to vote in some small local elections, but I assume you are talking about the Presidential election?

Rene

yes sorry its a green card yes, and it was for the presidential election,
Old Jan 22nd 2017, 12:30 pm
Just Joined