Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Couple of questions: On O3 and have founds jobs :)

Couple of questions: On O3 and have founds jobs :)

Old Oct 15th 2011, 8:10 pm
Forum Regular

cowtowntaff is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Couple of questions: On O3 and have founds jobs :)

Been in the USA on O3 for a while and have found a couple of places that are prepared to employ me

The first one seems quite straightforward. Long term contract and will be a regular H1-B application. As I understand from reading threads on here, the employer will petition for permission to employ me. If approved I go to an embassy and get a visa. Typically, will I need to provide any documents to support the employer's petition? If so I want to get a head start on getting them in order.

One thing at the back of my mind is I have a degree (a BA from the educational powerhouse of Staffordshire University) but my course was only three years. I've read in some places that in the USA degrees are typically four years. Could this be a major stumbling block? I have ten years experience in my field if that will help.

On top of that, I have another offer which is potentially much better for my career and better paid. However they want to employ me on a trial basis and go for a longer visa if things work out. Is this an option for me at all? Could a J1 or H2-B cover this? Or is it possible to get an H1-B for four months (the period they want to trial me for)?

Lastly, if the worst happens and I lose my job, can I just fall back into my current O3 visa or will I have to leave the USA and apply for a new O3?

Ok so that turned into way more than a couple of questions. Thanks in advance for anyone who takes the time to answer any of them
Old Oct 15th 2011, 9:03 pm
Account Closed

scrubbedexpat099 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Couple of questions: On O3 and have founds jobs :)