British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/)
-   -   Citizenship Question (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/citizenship-question-511710/)

polsmt Feb 4th 2008 5:55 pm

Citizenship Question

Apologies if this was answered previously, but I searched and could not find the answer. I was recently at a Burns supper and bumped into a nice lady from Edinburgh who had been here a while so I was quizzing her about citizenship as I am currently a permanent resident but wondered about the advantages of citizenship. Her advice was to become one because her lawyer told her that if she died while a PR the government could take 50% of the estate and her spouse would loose out. Is this correct or old advice??

Thanks

Paul

Rete Feb 4th 2008 6:35 pm

Re: Citizenship Question

Originally Posted by polsmt (Post 5883684)
Apologies if this was answered previously, but I searched and could not find the answer. I was recently at a Burns supper and bumped into a nice lady from Edinburgh who had been here a while so I was quizzing her about citizenship as I am currently a permanent resident but wondered about the advantages of citizenship. Her advice was to become one because her lawyer told her that if she died while a PR the government could take 50% of the estate and her spouse would loose out. Is this correct or old advice??

Thanks

Paul

No certain of the percentage but essentially correct. As a non-citizen you pay hired taxes on estates than a citizen would.

ian-mstm Feb 4th 2008 6:42 pm

Originally Posted by polsmt (Post 5883684)
Her advice was to become one because her lawyer told her that if she died while a PR the government could take 50% of the estate and her spouse would loose out. Is this correct or old advice?