British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/)
-   -   Becoming a citizen? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/becoming-citizen-863493/)

DK007 Aug 16th 2015 12:00 am

Becoming a citizen?

Hi all

I know for sure this has been discussed a lot, and I've read lots of pros and cons, but I'm still unsure.

I'm a permanent resident, married to a US citizen, in my 60's, and can;t imagine ever wanting to move back to the UK, so why not become a citizen and not worry about USCIS anymore?

The time is just about here when I can apply, but now I'm having cold feet. A lot of it is just about the emotions involved - I know I won't have to give up my UK citizenship, but still it feels kind of strange to think about being an American, not just a Brit.

So, I'm not sure I'm asking anything, really, just wanted to talk to people who, I hope, "get it"

Noorah101 Aug 16th 2015 12:30 am

Re: Becoming a citizen?

My husband isn't British, but he's been very happy being a dual citizen. It makes life so much easier going back and forth between the USA and his home country with a passport from each.

Rene

ian-mstm Aug 16th 2015 12:34 am

Originally Posted by DK007 (Post 11724764)
... and can;t imagine ever wanting to move back to the UK...

It's not just about moving back to the UK - it's about leaving the US for an extended period of time and not having to worry about being allowed back into the US. You have no idea what's in store for the future.

... so why not become a citizen and not worry about USCIS anymore?
Exactly! Further, you'll get the opportunity to participate in the various systems of government without having to sit back and take whatever happens to be thrown at you!

I know I won't have to give up my UK citizenship, but still it feels kind of strange to think about being an American, not just a Brit.