Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Advice on best way to move to the USA

Advice on best way to move to the USA

Old Aug 21st 2010, 12:47 pm
Forum Regular

Barcholder will become famous soon enough
Default Advice on best way to move to the USA

Hi everybody

I'm new on this site, though I have regularly followed it for months now. I would like some advice as to how best to move my family to the Usa based on my situation.

I am a chartered accountant with many years experience in Investment Banking in London. I currently work as a contractor through my personal service company, and also run a couple of online businesses. One is a sports betting hedge fund, the other is an online recruitment business which has only recently launched.

In addition, I will shortly be launching an innovative website aimed at university students which I hope will prove a big success.

My question is this - given the above, how easy would it be to apply for the L1-a visa using one of my companies (also including the personal service company?). I will meet the 12 months rule so there are no problems there.

Secondly, would it be better / easier to apply for the E2 visa instead as it gives you an initial 5 year stay, versus the L1-a which gives an initial 12 months.

I'd be grateful for any and all feedback.

Thank you
Old Aug 21st 2010, 1:39 pm
Account Closed

ian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Advice on best way to move to the USA

Originally Posted by Barcholder