Adherence to H1B Activities

Old Jun 22nd 2008, 5:35 pm
Forum Regular

Clare37 is just really niceClare37 is just really niceClare37 is just really niceClare37 is just really niceClare37 is just really niceClare37 is just really niceClare37 is just really niceClare37 is just really nice
Question Adherence to H1B Activities

I’m a research assistant professor at a University in Georgia. Last week my boss stated that all staff including me would be required to spend half a day doing volunteer work which involves either making sandwiches for homeless people or delivering the sandwiches to their homes. I didn’t go to this (I went to work instead) because

1) I was inundated with deadlines which I felt I wouldn’t be able to honor if I did not spend the time on my work;
2) I was worried about the legal ramifications of doing non H1B tasks in another organization/ off site. My boss is now alleging that my failure to do the "mandatory voluntary work" is insubordination. I’d be grateful for any advice on my rights with regard to this issue.

Is the fact that she was trying to make me carry out non H1B tasks a valid defense against her insubordination allegations?

PS During my tenure in this position I’ve been asked to do several tasks which don’t correspond with the H1B activities outlined in my H1B petition, e.g. addressing envelopes, sending out standard letters, producing minutes for meetings, registration and time keeping duties in relation to events and event planning.

Thanks in advance.
Old Jun 22nd 2008, 5:45 pm

meauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adherence to H1B Activities