On our way

Old Sep 10th 2008, 10:03 am
BE Enthusiast

Russ_Sarah is just really niceRuss_Sarah is just really niceRuss_Sarah is just really niceRuss_Sarah is just really niceRuss_Sarah is just really niceRuss_Sarah is just really niceRuss_Sarah is just really niceRuss_Sarah is just really niceRuss_Sarah is just really niceRuss_Sarah is just really niceRuss_Sarah is just really nice
Default On our way

first post here on the "update forum"...

i have been addicted to this part of the website and have spent months looking in here and reading the trials and tribulations of everyones move...

well, we are on our way...we are a mid 30's couple with a 3 yr old boy...I am irish and my wife is welsh..we were living in south wales up until 3 years ago..i am a quantity surveyor and was working for welsh water..had a nice life, lived near the inlaws and things were going well...then a friend of mine got a job working back over in Dublin on double the salary i was on in wales..my head was turned and before i knew it we were looking at how much equity we had in our house in wales and then we decided to go for it ..put the house up for sale..and it went really quickly...i was working in dublin, renting a nice pad ..on what was loads of more money than i was on in the uk, this put us in a lucky position in that the wife didnt have to work, so she took up a course in Hollistic therapies and is now qualified..i had a fab year getting loads of different kinds of massage!!!

but dublin wasnt all it was cracked up to be..house prices were crazy...crime is awful with just about one gangland shooting every weekend since we were there...and the traffic is just unbelievable..sometimes taking me over 2 hours to get home from work...

then last january we were at a wedding of a friend of mine in newcastle..

one of my old school friends was there and him and his partner were only 2 weeks away from heading out to sydney on a sponsorship 457 visa...