Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Trucking
Reload this Page >

truck company info in this thread from EBR group

truck company info in this thread from EBR group

Old Sep 11th 2007, 7:51 pm
Forum Regular

citicat is a jewel in the roughciticat is a jewel in the roughciticat is a jewel in the roughciticat is a jewel in the rough
Default truck company info in this thread from EBR group

Hello Everyone,
My name is Laura, I am the recruiter for the Erb Group of Companies and due to the fact there is a whole bunch of you asking questions I thought I would bring us altogether in an email. I hope you don't mind.
We have a permit for our Erb International Division, these drivers go into the States and deliver freight and pick up freight and bring it back to Canada. The type of trucks that are assigned to this company are called (nicknamed) Tractor-Trailer or semi' which I do believe are called Articulates across the pond. The weight category that they are in is a 36 metric ton, they are basically a house on wheels. They have 2 bunks, room to stand, a couple of cupboards and some shelving.
On an average our drivers are out 5 1/2 days and back for the weekend, which lasts a 1 1/2 day and then they are back out again. This way the family has some time to see them. We also have drivers go out across Canada and deliver their freight, go down into the States to pick up freight and come back to Ontario. They are usually out between 10 to 14 days at home for 2 to 3 days and then back out again. I find that a lot our drivers that are on the permit, work the west coast because it's more miles that you can acquire.