Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Trucking
Reload this Page >

Oilsands Work - help & advice please

Oilsands Work - help & advice please

Old Dec 21st 2012, 11:31 am
Forum Regular

Wookie Wayne is a jewel in the roughWookie Wayne is a jewel in the roughWookie Wayne is a jewel in the roughWookie Wayne is a jewel in the rough
Default Oilsands Work - help & advice please

I've been trying to get work in the Oilsands and applying online seems to be a complete waste of time. Internet says don't turn up without a job, apply online only etc, yet they also say they are crying out for labour.

I currently am stuck in Toronto working a seasonal job. I can afford to go out there but only if I get a job at the end of it. Has anyone else been in this situation?

I am a DZ driver TDG, H2S awareness but have no eyes or ears on the ground in Fort McMurray. Can you turn up with a fist full of resumes and go door to door? Has anyone done this?

Getting a little fed up of chasing my own tail. Any advice from established workers who have made a successful move? Or any leads, I need a helping hand.

Thank you

Last edited by Wookie Wayne; Dec 21st 2012 at 11:36 am.
Old Dec 21st 2012, 3:15 pm
BE Forum Addict

jamesmc has a reputation beyond reputejamesmc has a reputation beyond reputejamesmc has a reputation beyond reputejamesmc has a reputation beyond reputejamesmc has a reputation beyond reputejamesmc has a reputation beyond reputejamesmc has a reputation beyond reputejamesmc has a reputation beyond reputejamesmc has a reputation beyond reputejamesmc has a reputation beyond reputejamesmc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Oilsands Work - help & advice please

why ft.mac,, plenty jobs in SK&west MB.on the patch. check sk jobs.
or even turn up.
jimmy.
Old Dec 21st 2012, 5:37 pm
Forum Regular

Wookie Wayne is a jewel in the roughWookie Wayne is a jewel in the roughWookie Wayne is a jewel in the roughWookie Wayne is a jewel in the rough