Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Trucking
Reload this Page >

I NEED SOME HELP PLEASE!!!!!!

I NEED SOME HELP PLEASE!!!!!!

Old Aug 28th 2012, 12:59 am
Just Joined

ciochi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default I NEED SOME HELP PLEASE!!!!!!

Hi there.I have been contacted by DAY&ROSS TRANSPORT GROUP for a hgv job(after countless phone calls) in Woodstock,Ontario.They offerd me $33000pa,12 months contract and all the imigration paperwork wold be taking care by them.I considering relocatin in Canada with my family(wife+2 kids) but i don*t know if i can keep my family with this salary.I have here few question if anyone can help me:
1.Anyone knows or worked for them?Are they ok?
2.About Woodstock,people living there??
3.How much wold i take home monthly,based on this salary?
4.Is it worthing moving there?better than uk???
Thank you
Old Aug 28th 2012, 2:23 am
Just Joined

Tom74 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: I NEED SOME HELP PLEASE!!!!!!

Hey ciochi

Somebody might be able to correct me on this, but I was under the impression that truck driving wasn't a job that you could gain PR with in Ontario. Most guys heading over seem to be going the Alberta, Saskatchewan or Manitoba route due to this. Even so if it is just a year contract it will cost a lot to up sticks again if you don't get a new contract at the end of the year.

On the point of how far that wage will get you, I don't know what 33k translates to after tax but I lived in Ontario for a year and a half and was on a take home wage of about 25k for a year of that and found I was able to survive well, but that was just as a single lad. Rent and utilities came to about 950 a month. then food and transport was about 250 more on top of that.