Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Trucking
Reload this Page >

A bit of help in starting out

A bit of help in starting out

Old Jun 25th 2012, 8:38 pm
Just Joined

Tom74 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default A bit of help in starting out

Hey Folks

I'm looking for a bit of advice in starting out on my journey to trucking in Canada. I'm a newbie to trucking so go easy on me

I'm back in Ireland just over a year after being in Ontario for 18 months and really loved it. I worked mostly on sites and a few months cycle couriering but in the end I couldn't get sponsored to stay. I'm 38 and have mostly worked as a driver, 6 years motor cycle courier, 7 years taxi driver. The next step for me was always to step up to the trucks and have only done that now. I looked into going to a driving school while I was in Canada but was on a hiding to nowhere without experience. I have just passed my artic (trailer) licence here and my C (flatbed) 4 months ago, and i've gotten a couple of months driving a flatbed in the meantime.

Here's where I'm looking for some help. There is not much work here at the minute for artic drivers especially with no experience so I'm heading over to England in a couple of months to try get a start somewhere.

In regards to getting a job that will lead me onto working in Canada, do I need to get a job with International experience? As far as I know the magic number for an LMO in Canada is 2 years, is this correct? Or would a job just driving within England suffice? I realize I have very little cards to play with here and i'm willing to work minimum wage for the two years if it gets me the experience needed.

What is throwing me is there is a guy who comes to Ireland twice a year to hire drivers for Canada but he is looking for 3 years experience with international driving.

Should I be preparing myself for 3 or more years (international?) driving before I try again for Canada or is 2 ok?