Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > The Trailer Park
Reload this Page >

New pension recipient and very confused.

New pension recipient and very confused.

Old Feb 16th 2020, 12:15 am
Just Joined

ConfusedinOklahoma is an unknown quantity at this point
Default New pension recipient and very confused.

Hi everyone, newbie here. Sorry if this question has been answered already but I really need help.

So...I’m 58, a green card holder here since 2011, and as of August 2019 in receipt of a monthly local authority occupational pension from when I lived and worked in the UK.

I have this monthly pension paid into my UK bank account, and either transfer it over to my US bank or keep it in the UK for when I go
back to visit. It’s only a modest amount, about £360 a month, and the lump sum that went along with it was £16,000.

Now, I’ve looked at the US/UK tax treaty and can’t make head nor tail of it. I think the lump sum may or may not be taxable, but I assume that this year my husband and I will have to file our taxes on paper instead of online, because where do I put the UK pension on the 1040?

As it’s a local authority pension is that counted as a government pension? If it is, or not, does a green card holder pay tax or would that be only if I was a citizen? Is there state tax as well?

I’m so sorry about the rambling, I said I was confused!! I have however been made aware of filing the FBAR for this year.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by ConfusedinOklahoma; Feb 16th 2020 at 12:17 am. Reason: Make title bold
Old Feb 16th 2020, 7:59 am
Heading for Poppyland